Dra. Maria A. Blasco Marhuenda  –
president of the jury

DA doctor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (1993), she is the Director of the CNIO (Spanish National Centre for Cancer Research) and leads its Telomeres and Telomerase group.

Her pioneering research established the fundamental role of telomeres and telomerase in cancer and ageing. She has published nearly 250 scientific articles and has won several awards and distinctions such as the Josef Steiner Cancer Research Award (Switzerland), the prestigious EMBO Gold Medal (European Molecular Biology Organization), the European Körber Science Award (Germany), the 2010 Premio Nacional Santiago Ramón y Cajal award in biological research and the 2016 Premio de la Comunidad de Madrid Miguel Catalán award for her career in research, among others.

Dra. Mercedes Rincón Rincón

Professor in the Department of Medicine – Division of Immunobiology at UVM (University of Vermont).  She earned her PhD at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and continued her research at the Yale University School of Medicine. She is co-founder of the startup Mitotherapeutix.

She has published 146 articles in major publications such as Science, Immunity and Nature Communications and has served on several panels at the National Institute of Health (NIH). She is the inventor of 2 patents and 3 patents of addition and is a world-renowned immunologist with experience in research fields such as allergies, asthma and arthritis, among others.

Dr. Carlos Macaya Miguel

Head of Cardiology at the Hospital Clínico San Carlos in Madrid and President of the Fundación Española del Corazón (Spanish Heart Foundation).

Professor of Cardiology at the Faculty of Medicine at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid (2001). Deeply involved in cardiovascular clinical management, he created the Instituto Cardiovascular in 1998, where he was director until 2007.

In 2007, he was awarded the Premio Jaime I in medical research by the Premios Rey Jaime I Foundation.

Prof. Lina Badimon Maestro

Director of the Cardiovascular Science Institute (ICCC) and CSIC Professor at the Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau – Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (UAB), Instituto de Investigaciones Biomédicas IIB-SPau, Lecturer Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine – Cardiology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York (USA), Director of Catalana Occidente Chair – UAB, Director of UNESCO Chair in Biomedical Sciences Training and Research and Vice President of Scientific Affairs of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC).

Her research interest is focused on cardiovascular and cardiometabolic diseases, atherosclerosis, thrombosis and ischemic diseases. She has published more than 490 articles in highly rated scientific journals. Her H index is 69.

Dr. Pedro Mata López MD, PhD

President and founder of the Fundación Hipercolesterolemia Familiar (Familial Hypercholesterolemia Foundation)

Specialist in Internal Medicine, President and founder of the Spanish Family Hypercholesterolemia Foundation, President of the Ibero-American Family Hypercholesterolemia Network.

He served as Associate Chief of Internal Medicine at the University Hospital of the Fundación Jiménez Díaz until 2013. He is co-founder and board member of the International Familial Hypercholesterolemia Foundation. As a researcher, he has particular interest in epidemiological clinical and molecular research in Familial Hypercholesterolemia. He was director of the prospective cohort study of HF in Spain (SAFEHEART), a programme designed to understand the prognostic factors and mechanisms that influence the development of coronary heart disease and mortality in people with a genetic diagnosis.

Dr. Guadalupe Sabio Buzo

Scientist and professor, she holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Veterinary Medicine from the University of Extremadura with an Extraordinary Prize (2000) and a PhD from the Medical Research Council.

She worked as a research associate at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Massachusetts (Worcester, United States), until 2009 when she returned to Spain under a Ramón y Cajal contract to study diseases associated with obesity, such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and cancer. In 2011 she joined the CNIC, where she leads the research group on this subject. In 2018 she received the Fundación Jesús Serra Research Award for her professional career, presenting a project on the role of mitogen-activated protein kinases in regulating the signalling pathways involved in metabolism, cell proliferation, differentiation and apoptosis.

Dr. Pablo Pérez Martínez

Degree in Medicine and Surgery from the University of Córdoba (1997), specialist in Internal Medicine at the Reina Sofía University Hospital.

Professor of Medicine at the University of Cordoba, he is currently working as a principal investigator at the Maimonides Institute for Biomedical Research. His scientific activity has focused on the study of clinical nutrigenomics, focusing on gene-environment interaction, including intestinal microbioma and somatic genomes, biomodulation of cardiovascular disease, and diabetes. He won the Fundación Jesús Serra Research Award for his professional career with a project on the role of the Mediterranean diet in improving mild cognitive impairment through the modulation of neuropeptides, fatty acids, markers of oxidative stress and inflammation in the microbiota, intestine and brain.

Laura Halpern Serra

Secretary and spokesperson of the Jury

Preferencia de cookies